Life in Ecuador

Life in rural Ecuador is pretty chill.

For the past couple of weeks we have been living with an indigenious tribe called the Tsachila (probably spelt wrong). They are some of the most amazing people in the world, but I am probably being biased because my host family is amazing. My host mom is a former Ecuador girl pop star and my host dad has been attempting to teach me and my partner their native tongue. So far I know how to say head, shoulders, good night and chicken. I think that it is going very well.

I have a young host brother who is two years old. He is actually pretty freaking adorable. But also annoying. Very annoying.

In the morning we go off to work sites and plant trees and paint a house every now and then. Planting trees kind of sucks but I guess it makes up for all the paper that I did not recycle during high school.

In the afternoon we spend a lot of time snacking in hammocks and discussing what it means to be environmentally responsible and how to maintan a culture while still bringing in modernization. Heavy topics I know. And the more we discuss things the more I realize how impossible it is to really do anything…

But I shall not give up hope.

Life in Ecuador is also pretty surreal. For example this weekend I trekked across the country to the Amazon Basin to go whitewater rafting. We were surrounded by beautiful waterfalls and the rainforest and I was just like how is this my life? This is too unreal. While everyone I know is preparing for midterms, I am rafting through the rainforest and swimming in waterfalls.

It is a nice life.

My time left in Ecuador is very short and I hope to live it to the fullest. My gap year has been full of wonderful surprises and I would not trade my experiences for anything. Very happy that I still have five countries more to go.

3 thoughts on “Life in Ecuador

Leave a Reply

