India

India is…well India. I don’t really know what to say about it. I have basically been overwhelmed since we arrived here almost two weeks ago and feel a little numb.

After our Christmas celebration we moved into host families and I live literally next to the airport. About twice a day an airplane takes off and is v loud. But yolo. Our host mom also runs a physical therapy practice out of the basement where she gives massages and drips oil down your face to lure you into sleep.

Also there was a rat in our room and Rachel (roommate) trapped it between the window and the screen. Just thinking about it gives me shivers. I don’t want to talk about it. But I think our host family set it on fire so it’s fine.

Our work for this country is teaching English/math in public schools. It has been…interesting. How do you teach English? I have no idea. But I am slowly learning.

Oh and doing long division and multiplication without a calculator is much harder than I remember it being when I was 8. I miss my Texas Instruments calculator.

India is a beautiful country though. It’s full of history and cows and kites. What more could you ask for.

I hope you are all having a happy New Year. 2015 has been pretty tight for me. I’ve been around the block a couple of times. Ready for 2016.

Leave a Reply

